[SOLVED] Burnt smell

Oct 30, 2019
I happened to bought a new cooling fan for my pc which had only 1 fan. I installed the new one and connected it to the same psu connector. Once I turned it on, a burnt smell caught my attention and I immediately pulled the plug. I didn't knew where the odor came. I removed the old fan and only used the new fan. The pc starts without any problem and the odor was gone. I want to know if I've done any permanent damage and what caused the burnt smell.

Disclaimer: I'm new to this kind of stuff so please bear with me

Solution
I think what he did was plugged both the molex and the 4 pin conection on the new fan , rather than just plugging the molec into the existing fan which was already connected to the board with a 4 pin connection as well.. wo it made a loop, because the 2 fans were both connected to a power source as well as together (threw the Molex) .. or at least that's what it sounded like

rubix_1011

Contributing Writer
Burnt plastic?
Burnt electrical?
Burnt 'other'?
Can you be more specific of what the smell is?

Without knowing this, it is difficult to assist, but since it occurred with the installation of the new fan, it would seem plausible that the new fan is to blame.

Did the fan continue to work, or did it stop soon after startup?

What type of plug was used for the connection? PWM? Molex? Other?

Reactions: Slaine..
Oct 30, 2019
I cant really identify if its a plastic or electrical because I quickly turned the pc off. Yeah the new fan works fine. The connection is 3 pin and 4 pin molex

Oct 30, 2019
I think the new fan is not at fault. I tried installing it and it worked fine. The problem occurred when I combined the new and the old fan. I connected both on a single psu connector. Both are 12v. The old fan had 4 pins btw

Gfost73

Reputable
Mar 23, 2019