[SOLVED] Can I clone Windows 10 HDD to a smaller SSD?

asiff6000fx

Distinguished
Jun 22, 2009
114
2
18,695
1
Hi

Can I clone Windows 10 HDD to a smaller SSD? my windows 10 HDD partition is 350 GB and the SSD i have is 250 GB and the actual Used space in the Windows partition is 130GB is there any free tool to do this without any trouble please do let me know

Thanks
Asif
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
137,248
6,966
166,190
21,072
-----------------------------
Specific steps for a successful clone operation:
-----------------------------
Verify the actual used space on the current drive is significantly below the size of the new SSD
Download and install Macrium Reflect (or Samsung Data Migration, if a Samsung SSD)
If you are cloning from a SATA drive to PCIe/NVMe, install the relevant driver for this new NVMe/PCIe drive.
Power off
Disconnect ALL drives except the current C and the new SSD
Power up
Run the Macrium Reflect (or Samsung Data Migration)
Select ALL the partitions on the existing C drive

If you are going from a smaller drive to a larger, by default, the target partition size will be the same as the Source. You probably don't want that
You can manipulate the size of the partitions on the target (larger)drive
Click on "Cloned Partition Properties", and you can specifiy the resulting partition size, to even include the whole thing

Click the 'Clone' button
Wait until it is done
When it finishes, power off
Disconnect ALL drives except for the new SSD
This is to allow the system to try to boot from ONLY the SSD
Swap the SATA cables around so that the new drive is connected to the same SATA port as the old drive
Power up, and verify the BIOS boot order
If good, continue the power up

It should boot from the new drive, just like the old drive.
Maybe reboot a time or two, just to make sure.

If it works, and it should, all is good.

Later, reconnect the old drive and wipe all partitions on it.
This will probably require the commandline diskpart function, and the clean command.

Ask questions if anything is unclear.
-----------------------------
 
Reactions: asiff6000fx

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
137,248
6,966
166,190
21,072
Hi

Can I clone Windows 10 HDD to a smaller SSD? my windows 10 HDD partition is 350 GB and the SSD i have is 250 GB and the actual Used space in the Windows partition is 130GB is there any free tool to do this without any trouble please do let me know

Thanks
Asif
As long as your actual consumed space on the HDD is under 200GB, you can migrate that to a 250GB drive.

What is the make/model of this SSD?
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
137,248
6,966
166,190
21,072
-----------------------------
Specific steps for a successful clone operation:
-----------------------------
Verify the actual used space on the current drive is significantly below the size of the new SSD
Download and install Macrium Reflect (or Samsung Data Migration, if a Samsung SSD)
If you are cloning from a SATA drive to PCIe/NVMe, install the relevant driver for this new NVMe/PCIe drive.
Power off
Disconnect ALL drives except the current C and the new SSD
Power up
Run the Macrium Reflect (or Samsung Data Migration)
Select ALL the partitions on the existing C drive

If you are going from a smaller drive to a larger, by default, the target partition size will be the same as the Source. You probably don't want that
You can manipulate the size of the partitions on the target (larger)drive
Click on "Cloned Partition Properties", and you can specifiy the resulting partition size, to even include the whole thing

Click the 'Clone' button
Wait until it is done
When it finishes, power off
Disconnect ALL drives except for the new SSD
This is to allow the system to try to boot from ONLY the SSD
Swap the SATA cables around so that the new drive is connected to the same SATA port as the old drive
Power up, and verify the BIOS boot order
If good, continue the power up

It should boot from the new drive, just like the old drive.
Maybe reboot a time or two, just to make sure.

If it works, and it should, all is good.

Later, reconnect the old drive and wipe all partitions on it.
This will probably require the commandline diskpart function, and the clean command.

Ask questions if anything is unclear.
-----------------------------
 
Reactions: asiff6000fx

asiff6000fx

Distinguished
Jun 22, 2009
114
2
18,695
1
sorry for my late reply

My SSD is Kingston UV500 M.2 2280 240GB

do I have to install any drivers for my SSD before I do the rest? I am going to Try Samsung Data Migration soft wear as you suggested I hope everything goes well

Thanks for your reply and I am sorry again for my late reply

Thanks
Asif
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
137,248
6,966
166,190
21,072
sorry for my late reply

My SSD is Kingston UV500 M.2 2280 240GB

do I have to install any drivers for my SSD before I do the rest? I am going to Try Samsung Data Migration soft wear as you suggested I hope everything goes well

Thanks for your reply and I am sorry again for my late reply

Thanks
Asif
You can't use the Samsung Data Migration tool.
That only works with a Samsung SSD as the target drive.

Macrium Reflect, as linked above.
 

asiff6000fx

Distinguished
Jun 22, 2009
114
2
18,695
1
yes, you are correct I just installed it and its not showing but the Macrium Reflect is paid and the free version is missing a lot of option is it ok or is there anything like this for kingston?
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
137,248
6,966
166,190
21,072

asiff6000fx

Distinguished
Jun 22, 2009
114
2
18,695
1
hi installed the software and i want to know a small thing and I have watched the image



The red color is my SSD ( i am going to formate it to make space)

The green color is my HDD and the tiny orange color box with the number 4 is my main windows partition do I have to include all 1 ,2 , 3, 4 to the SSD are thay windows system partition ?

5,6,7 are data and games partions i don't want them in my SSD i only want to migrate my windows 10 portions please let me know and thanks a lot for your great help and support

Thanks
Asif
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
137,248
6,966
166,190
21,072
Yes, 1-4.
And, as per the instructions...you should only have the two relevant drives connected. Prevents mistakes.
That one in the middle...disconnect it.

What is in the Partition 6 & 7?
Knowing the existence of those would have been helpful.

Pay close attention to the middle section of those steps, where it speaks to adjusting the resulting partition size on the new drive.
 

asiff6000fx

Distinguished
Jun 22, 2009
114
2
18,695
1
yes, and I did all that you said and sadly I crashed it and something went wrong and it's not booting :(
chill out I am just joking... I did all that you said you know I was hoping to buy a 480gb SSD to do this because my SSD is small in size and I thought I can ask some expert for advice in this forum...MAN you truly an expert everything is working fine and all is done perfectly by the tool you referred to me and the great guidelines you told me I flowed everything as you mentioned..and its a Success

You saved my day and money...now my pc boots in less than 9 seconds in the cloned SSD (without the windows 10 fast boot option enabled )

Thanks Again for your great support and time

Thanks
Asif
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS