[SOLVED] Can I connect 2 3.3V and one 5v with ground for 12.8v?

ZonalSilver

Commendable
Feb 13, 2019
I recently rewired my psu to adapt to my 14 pin mobo connector for my Lenovo mobo. I'm super tight on money and I am looking at a nice graphics card, but it requires a 6 pin power connector. I have the adapter, but I had to use the 12v wires from the molex connectors to power the mobo. I was wondering if I could connect other wires to make near 12v and connect those in place of the 12v wires on the molex connector so I can use the Graphics card I am getting.

My other question would be if I could take one of the 12v wires from my mobo and use it to power my Molex connector or if I could split one of the 12v wires to do that? Like splitting one 12v wire and sending one part into mobo and other into molex to power my GPU?

I don't have another PSU and I need to find a fix to use my GPU that I am getting, is there anything I can do to fix this?

BTW I am a decent pc tech and will understand most things, but I wanted to know if this could be done safely or provide a stable connection to my GPU

Solution
I have that part you listed from Amazon, which is what I am trying to use.

I want to connect like 2 3.3v and a 5v wire into one wire, then use that wire as my 12v, even though it would be 11.6v. Then proceed to use the molex connector's as the GPU's power.

I am basically trying to replace my 12v wire with others, and trying to add them up to make more.

So like if you add 2 AA batteries, you get 3v instead of 1.5v. Can I add several positive wires with 1 ground wire?
NO YOU CAN'T ADD THOSE VOLTAGES!

The reason is the shared ground. You have the black wire in the psu that is common for all voltages. So to add voltages in series you need minus-plus-minus-plus-minus-plus and the ends will have the total voltage...

kanewolf

Titan