Certifications vs Degree vs Experience

HowieIsBoss

Reputable
May 5, 2015
Hi there,

Thanks for stopping by. I am currently 21 years old and am holding a Technician job giving me the experience I feel I need to get to the next IT position I would like. As of now, it has been a little over six months. I am currently studying for my A+ certificate and I believe I have decided I will no longer further my college education (I have probably about a years worth), as I feel it isn't needed. I wanted to reach out to the IT community and get some input from people who have been down my path, employers or other people currently facing this issue. Any input you give is greatly appreciated.

I've been doing this 25 years. This is what I can tell you:

If your college degree is in a technical field, finish it. A college degree is prized above a certification, and I've seen plenty of certifications that aren't worth what their paper is printed on. And thereby a lot of people with certifications who aren't hired.

A certification usually concentrates in one specific area. So that also narrows down your available job pool. A college degree however gives you a broad understanding of how and what for a large area.

Some people think that once you are in the door you can get experience and expand your skills to move onto new bigger and better things. I only conditionally agree with this. You have two options:

1. Once you are an IT position at a company, you are stuck in the same job. It's rare that you'll be taken out of that position at the same company unless you can prove your skills are more valuable somewhere else.

2. Get a new job someplace else. Again, experience is key here. But if you never managed to apply your certificate skills to the new position, it's less likely you'll be hired. It becomes a chicken and the egg problem.