Question Choosing between these two SSDs ?

donline

Distinguished
Apr 20, 2016
Hi everyone,

I'm trying to choose between these two Samsung SSDs:

Samsung SSD 980

Samsung SSD 970 EVO Plus

From what I understand (and I'm a beginner with all of this), the 980 model is DRAM-less but has newer technology (newer controller, bus type and NAND?) but the 970 EVO Plus has DRAM and perhaps reads/writes faster. So which would you say is the best performing RAM? Which would you choose?

Thank you!

Solution
I think there may be several variants of the
E410MA laptop.
I would want to be very sure that you do not waste your money
If you have the variant that was in your link in post #3
Open up the laptop and look for the m.2 slot to be certain.
Do not be afraid to do so, you are going to need to do this to upgrade.
There should be some youtube videos around to show you.
For example:
View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VknI1_fTAoQ

Is there now a hard drive installed for the windows C drive?

As to which of the two m.2 ssd devices, take your pick.
The big benefit comes from using a ssd of any type instead of a hard drive.
Buy the cheaper unit perhaps.
To illustrate how little difference there is, take a...

Lutfij

Titan
What is the make and model of the motherboard you want to drop the SSD listed above into? Might want to also include the processor as well. FYI, it's not memory, you're referring to storage...I've moved the thread from Memory over to Storage section.

donline

Distinguished
Apr 20, 2016
What is the make and model of the motherboard you want to drop the SSD listed above into? Might want to also include the processor as well. FYI, it's not memory, you're referring to storage...I've moved the thread from Memory over to Storage section.
Thank you Lutfij.
I appreciate you moving the thread (silly me, should have realised it comes under storage!).

Here is the laptop model:

Asus Vivobook E410MA(-BV037TS)
Intel Celeron N4020 (1.1 GHz)
4GB RAM (DDR4)
64GB eMMC