Question Cooler for a build with i7 9700k

Status
Not open for further replies.
Apr 11, 2019
Hello.

I'm making a build and it's my first time doing it. I have choose all parts except the cooler, i'm not sure which one to get. First of all i will show my build:

CASE: CORSAIR 570X MIRROR
CPU: INTEL® CORE I7-9700K 3.6GHZ 12MB LGA 1151
MOTHERBOARD: GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS ULTRA SKT 1151/4XDDR4/HDMI/5 USB 3.1/ ATX
GPU: ZOTAC RTX 2080 AMP! EXTREME ED 8MB GDDR6
RAM: HYPERX PREDATOR 8GB 2666MHZ DDR4 (x2)
HDD: SEAGATE BARRACUDA 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM
SSD: SAMSUNG 970 EVO Plus 250GB M.2
POWER SUPPLY : RMX SERIES RM750X 80 PLUS GOLD FULLY MODULAR ATX POWER SUPPLY
CPU COOLER: (I DON'T KNOW WHICH ONE TO GET)

I have in mind Noctua D15S (dual fan and radiator but perhaps too big), Noctua U14S (single fan and radiator) and Corsair H100i Pro or Platinum.

What do you think about it? I'm open to other suggestions for coolers either AIO or Air Cooler.

This pc will be for intensive use for gaming.

Ty

Edit: I'm also thinking in put 1 or 3 more SP120 fans depending on the Cooler i get.

Last edited:
You cant go wrong with Noctua coolers. They are really the Lexus of CPU coolers. But they are a little pricey and in my opinion, ugly. The Cryorig H5 or the Crorig R1 will both fit in that case and are very good coolers that are a little easier on the eyes.

I have not built a system with that case, but airflow will be restricted because of all the tempered glass. This may pose an issue for an AIO. A quality air cooler will be quieter and last longer than an AIO and will have very similar performance. But AIO's look cleaner and show your system off better. So if the looks is what is most important, then go for the H115i as it is a decent AIO.

rubix_1011

Contributing Writer
This is a preference question, so we need more information.

Do you plan to overclock the CPU at all?
Do you care about fan noise, or are you seeking as much silence as possible?