Question Could dual Xeon run each on 4pin EPS Cable?

ketrab

Distinguished
Oct 27, 2008
PSU came with single 8pin(2x4 split) EPS cable.

Motherboard comes with 2x8pin connectors.

Do you guys see a problem if I split the 1x8pin into 2x4pin from the PSU and power each CPU with only 4pin.

I believe the max 4pin draw was around 190watts vs e2697v3 shows max TDP of 145W so theoreticaly should be fine but I have never worked with xeon before and just thought of any caveats or potential damage?! No OC in mind obviously.

So I was thinking of grabbing 4pin CPU extensions cables to split i.e like this:

Thank you in advance!

kanewolf

Titan

Do you guys see a problem if I split the 1x8pin into 2x4pin from the PSU and power each CPU with only 4pin.

I believe the max 4pin draw was around 190watts vs e2697v3 shows max TDP of 145W so theoreticaly should be fine but I have never worked with xeon before and just thought of any caveats or potential damage?! No OC in mind obviously.

So I was thinking of grabbing 4pin CPU extensions cables to split i.e like this:

Thank you in advance!
IMO, no you won't be "OK". You need a new power supply that supports the motherboard you intend to use.

Reactions: stonecarver
You are going to have to find some site that actually documents the what the maximum watts the 8 pin connector can deliver.
Lets say the motherboard splits the power itself. You would still be drawing almost 300 watts total. I think that is above the amount of power a single 8 pin connector is allowed to deliver. It is mostly about the size of the wires. Worst case they melt but the other issue is you will get lower voltages when you try to draw too many amps through a wire.

If I remember correctly the 8 pin was something like 250 watts but I don't know why I think that.

Misgar

Commendable
Mar 2, 2023
I found this technical guide and I'm trying to interpret the EPS12V section on page 16.
https://www.techpowerup.com/articles/160/images/EPS12V_Spec2_92.pdf