CPU Cooling questions

DrizzyDom

Prominent
Feb 28, 2017
Hey all. I recently finished my build (specs below) and have been enjoying it thoroughly so far. However, I seem to notice that my CPU runs very hot with the stock cooler, reaching temperatures of 100C under full load, even with the stock cooler running at full speed. Granted, this isn't a problem as far as damaging the CPU or socket would go, as the T-junction temperature is rated at 100C. I would like to fix this so that under full load it does not reach its temperature limit and begin to throttle itself. All other parts of my system stay very cool under full load (with only the GPU reaching around 80-90 degrees under full load), and the CPU gets this hot with or without the GPU installed. Since this build was technically an upgrade though, I have an old CoolerMaster CPU fan and heatsink that I could use to replace the stock one, but I don't have any additional thermal paste to use or apply anywhere. However, upon removing the heatsink from the original CPU before upgrading, I did not wipe off any of the thermal paste.

I know this may seem like a lot, but all I'm really trying to ask is this. Would I need to purchase CPU thermal paste to apply to the heatsink before replacing the stock one, or would the already present paste on both the CPU and heatsink be enough to provide the cooling performance that I would like to see?

System Specs:
CPU: Intel i5 7400 @3.0GHz
GPU: MSI Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB
Motherboard: GIGABYTE Z270M
RAM: Ballistix 16GB kit (2x8GB)

It takes a bit for paste to start curring. Once that starts the paste will hold the heatsink off the CPU and cause higher temps. For that paste it would only take a few days at most. If its been longer you will for sure need new paste. If you want a better heatsink maybe pick up the cryorig M9i that comes with paste. This heatsink is as good as the CM212 evo if you need a better cooler.
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant