CPU fan not working

ata01

Distinguished
Jul 31, 2011
I have a CoolerMaster Hyper 212 CPU Cooler and the fan stopped working. Looks like it's stuck or needs oiling since it doesn't spin easily when I push it with my finger as do other fans in my computer.
Is it necessary for the fan to work (I don't know how long it's been like that) and if so how can I fix it?

pepe2907

Distinguished
Aug 24, 2010
Yes, it's absolutely necessary!
You may try to stir it up by hand.
Also look if there is a lot of dust or fibres, especially arround the axis. Try to clean it by some brush if it's possible.
If nothing helps you should probably buy a new fan - only the fan, not the whole cooler.

diellur

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2011
Depending on the CPU you have it on, and whether or not it's overclocked, will determine how necessary it is to have the fan working on that cooler. It's heat-sink area is reasonable, and the ventilation from other fans in the PC may provide enough airflow. However, it is a very good idea for it to be working!

The Coolermaster Blademaster fans that go on the Hyper-212 cost about £10, and they're PWM as well. I'd pick another one up and replace the dodgy fan. You could always get 2, set it up in push-pull and have a bit of redundancy in case a fan fails again.

ata01

Distinguished
Jul 31, 2011

I tried stirring it by hand and leaning the dust but I don't have very good access with the cooling ribs blocking the way to the fan. Will it be safe for the cooler to unscrew the top two front screws so I can take out the part that attaches the fan to the cooler or is there another way to take out the fan?

ata01

Distinguished
Jul 31, 2011

I have a E8400, not OC. I checked with core temp and I got 40C for core0 and 27C for core1, but that's mostly on idle since my graphics card has gone bad (which was the reason I opened up the case in the first place).