Question CPU usage and temperatures

Mar 12, 2023
I'm completely new to this stuff, built my computer this past week and I have some questions regarding CPUs in general
I have a Ryzen 7700 and a Rx 6800
the CPU currently uses the stock cooler that I was planning on switching out in case the temperatures got too hot, but since I have a good airflow case (AP201), I didn't think it would be too big of an issue
The problem is, the CPU often goes into like 80C when playing games like Overwatch, a game that I didn't think was CPU heavy
And just now, when browsing google maps, just zooming in and out made the temperatures peak at 75C at 25% usage
It runs fine in things like cinebench where it never goes above 80C and hits a comparable score to the scores posted online
It idling rn at ~50C and often goes above that, which seems high to me

Could there be something wrong or is this standard for my hardware?
PC picture

Last edited:
Describe your case fan setup....number, location, intake or exhaust, brand, model, rpm they typically run at.

Kinda surprised you get temps of 80 gaming and no more than 80 on Cinebench. I wouldn't expect much out of stock coolers, but if you get only 80 on Cinebench.......

Do you like that case? I think it has a lot of ventilation and should have good airflow.

Mar 12, 2023
Describe your case fan setup....number, location, intake or exhaust, brand, model, rpm they typically run at.

Kinda surprised you get temps of 80 gaming and no more than 80 on Cinebench. I wouldn't expect much out of stock coolers, but if you get only 80 on Cinebench.......

Do you like that case? I think it has a lot of ventilation and should have good airflow.
I have four fans, two intakes underneath the GPU, one for exhaust and the stock AMD 7700 aircooler
The two at the bottom are 120mm corsair fans and the exhaust is a 120mm that came with the case