CPU_FAN vs AIO_PUMP (Need to decide which goes to which)

zihanzzz

Prominent
Jul 8, 2017
Hi,
I am completely new to building PCs and I have the following configurations:

Asus STRIX Z270E Motherboard (with the following headers: CPU_FAN, CPU_OPT, 2xChassis FAN, AIO_PUMP, H_AMP_FAN)
Corsair H115i Liquid Cooling (one connector coming out of the pump)
Corsair Carbide 600C Case (It has three AF140L case fans)

How should I plug my wires to those headers?
Mainly, the cable coming out of the pump, should it go to CPU_FAN or AIP_PUMP? I've searched around and there seem to be different opinions. Which one is better?

Also, my case has three fans, and I think two of them are going to Chassis fan headers, how about the third one? Should it go to CPU_OPT or H_AMP_FAN? Does it matter?

Thanks. I would really appreciate if you can tell me the solution. If there are tradeoffs, please do let me know as well.

Solution
For an aio liquid CPU cooler you are going to want to plug the pump into the CPU fan header. This is important so that if the pump fails the PC will warn you so that you don't burn up your CPU. Now all the other fans can just plug into any fan header on the mother board or into the psu.

This is important after you finish hooking everything up you need to go into your bios and set the CPU fan profile to Max. The reason why is that you don't want the pump to keep changing speeds up and down and such. They are designed to run at Max consistently. Other wise you can damage the pump and it will be louder when operating probably making grinding noises.

I hope this has been of some help to you.

amtseung

Distinguished