CTR or LCD's????

G

Hi to all and sundry....

I'm about to purchase a new computer system...and I'm at logger heads with myself in regards to the monitor choice.

I'm a photographer who uses photoshop as part of my business...so this computer will be soley used for photoshopping nothing else...ok ok...perhaps a game or two but I need a monitor that will give me optimum image quality as my files are around 250 mb per image size...so here is the question....

Is it better to go for a flat screen (which save desk space) as opposed to a CTR monitor? I know CTR's have a great screen resolution as low as .24 dpi but what about the LCD's??? Perhaps someone in the same industry would know how to answer this question...i need all the help I can get.

cheers,
Spatchy

flamethrower205

Illustrious
Jun 26, 2001
Well, I do graphics a lot, and use photoshop when I need to touch up something, so maybe I can relate. What I have noticed (and there are others who concurr) is that w/ an LCd your eyes will be less fatigued, thus meaning u can stay in front of teh monitor longer. Some will argue that it is a lot easier to achieve matching colors w/ your printer on a CRT, and that is true. That may be a concern for u (actually, I'm sure it is). With a good LCD, u can pretty much do that too. However, LCD's do cost more. By the way, it's CRT, not CTR (Cathode Ray Tube). In addition, image quality on LCD is to some point subjective, ie u may like it better than ur CRT. It really is up to you- go to a store, and check some out (do take into account that they are hooked up through a signal splicer, thus degrading image quality quite abit, often not run at native res, and the ones on display usually aren't as good as what u can get online (I say that b/c for example I am yet to see anything newer than 2 year old LCD's in ANY of my comp shops)). Your choice really.

Only if you let me see the Umpa Lumpa- Homer Simpson.

G