Custody Battle and Upkeep

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

My opponent has cast Custody Battle on my Argothian Wurm, and now its my turn.

After untap we enter the Upkeep step. "At the beginning of upkeep" items
trigger and go on the stack. So, Custody Battle ability is now 'on the stack'
I assume, and can I now respond to it with a "disenchant" and successfully
destroy the Custody Battle without paying the sacrifice penalty and _keep_ my
Wurm, OR will the Custody Battle be destroyed yet its ability still resolves
and if I don't sacrifice a land, the creature is permenantly my opponents?
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On 25 Jul 2004 20:06:48 GMT, LBradH <lbradh@aol.commmono> wrote:
>My opponent has cast Custody Battle on my Argothian Wurm, and now its my turn.
>
>After untap we enter the Upkeep step. "At the beginning of upkeep" items
>trigger and go on the stack. So, Custody Battle ability is now 'on the stack'
>I assume, and can I now respond to it with a "disenchant" and successfully
>destroy the Custody Battle without paying the sacrifice penalty and _keep_ my
>Wurm, OR will the Custody Battle be destroyed yet its ability still resolves
>and if I don't sacrifice a land, the creature is permenantly my opponents?

The latter; the ability is on the stack, and destroying or otherwise fiddling
with its source does Nothing Much to the ability. And in this case the source
of the TRIGGERED ABILITY is actually the Wurm; the Battle has a -static-
ability whose continuous effect _gives_ that ability to the Wurm it's on. So
it's even more of a remove than usual. (In other words: disenchanting the CB
does remove the triggered ability from the Wurm. But doing so after it's
triggered and is on the stack won't remove the ability from the STACK in any
way.)

To do what you want to do you have to get rid of the CB at or before the end
of HIS turn; you don't get any chance to cast spells or use abilities in YOUR
turn until the CB ability has already triggered and gone onto the stack.

A better bet might be to wait until his turn, and see if he gives the Wurm back
or sacrifices a land; if he sacrifices, then hey, your Disenchant has
effectively taken out one of his lands without even being used yet...

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

"LBradH" <lbradh@aol.commmono> wrote in message
news:20040725160648.04802.00000378@mb-m12.aol.com...
> My opponent has cast Custody Battle on my Argothian Wurm, and now its my
turn.
>
> After untap we enter the Upkeep step. "At the beginning of upkeep" items
> trigger and go on the stack. So, Custody Battle ability is now 'on the
stack'
> I assume, and can I now respond to it with a "disenchant" and successfully
> destroy the Custody Battle without paying the sacrifice penalty and _keep_
my
> Wurm, OR will the Custody Battle be destroyed yet its ability still
resolves
> and if I don't sacrifice a land, the creature is permenantly my opponents?

Destroying the source of an effect doesn't do anything to the effect
itself. Custody Battle's effect is on the stack, like you said, and it
doesn't care whether the Custody Battle itself is still on your Wurm or not
at the time it resolves. You will still have to deal with it.
 

TRENDING THREADS