Custom build for WoW

Mordrea

Reputable
Jan 25, 2015
Hello, my computer died on me so I'm looking to build my own. I want to be able to play WoW on ultra settings. I've been doing my homework and have come up with this build. http://pcpartpicker.com/user/Mordrea/saved/LkVCmG What I need to know a) is this good enough and b) how can I shave off about $400 without sacrificing too much? This will be my first build and I am not very tech savvy so please be gentle. Thanks in advance!

Solution
To answer your questions:
1. I think OCable is not a part, but means Overclockable.
Overclocking means that you can raise the performance of a overclockable cpu by about 20% if you have a decent cpu cooler to take care of the extra heat.

2. Yes, there are free data migration utilities that will move a complete OS to a SSD assuming that the SSD is large enough to hold the os and all games/apps.
My take is to enjoy the use of an initial SSD. It makes everything else you do so much quicker. 240gb will hold a fair number of games. perhaps a dozen. It is easy to add a hard drive for storage of large files such as video's later.
3. On thee case, buy what you love. It will be with you for a very long time.
The case you picked is a...
here ssd wont fit into shaving off 400 tho

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel Core i5-4690K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($219.95 @ SuperBiiz)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($30.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Motherboard: MSI Z97 PC MATE ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($89.99 @ Amazon)
Memory: G.Skill Sniper 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($61.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($48.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 970 4GB ACX 2.0 Video Card ($329.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Case: NZXT Source 210 Elite (Black) ATX Mid Tower Case ($39.90 @ Directron)
Power Supply: XFX 550W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply ($54.99 @ Amazon)