Build Advice DIY NAS / Media Server build ?

Mar 5, 2024
Hello all,
I'm new to this and appoligize for being a dummy but I need some assistance to figure this out.

I got my hands on a HP T740 Thin client running Ryzen V1756B with Vega 8 Graphics, 8 GB DDR4 3200mhz.
Would love to set it up as my home NAS and Plex media server running unRAID.

Before beginning the process I'll need more storage, Haven't bought any HDD's yet but I'm thinking 5x 4 tb 3,5 HDD's.
The thin client doesn't have any SATA connectors but does have a low-profile PCI slot and 2 M.2 slots, (one of them has support for NVME and the other one M.2 SATA)
I have searched for a HDD enclosure and found ‎ORICO DS500C3 but after some research I found out that running NAS via USB is not recommended and UNRAID will have issues identifying the drives separately so here I am trying to find another way.

Is it possible to use a HBA card for SATA expansion via PCI or M.2 To SATA3 Expansion Card? Found this one on Amazon
If so, how would I go on with delivering power to the HDD's, in this case 5 of them? I do not have a PSU.

I'm aware that using a tower PC would make things a lot easier, but I'd like to now if this is possible.

I appreciate the help!

Lutfij

Titan
Welcome to the forums, newcomer!

To be blunt, you're trying to make something work beyond what it was intended to be used for, meaning using an M.2 adapter to add more storage. You should stick to the 2x M.2 drive options in your build, which would have to be SSD's and use the RJ45 ort on the back of the Thin Client to hook up a NAS to it.

My 2 cents, at least.

Mar 5, 2024
Welcome to the forums, newcomer!

To be blunt, you're trying to make something work beyond what it was intended to be used for, meaning using an M.2 adapter to add more storage. You should stick to the 2x M.2 drive options in your build, which would have to be SSD's and use the RJ45 ort on the back of the Thin Client to hook up a NAS to it.

My 2 cents, at least.