Does spell cost include spice or flashback?

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

I'm curious if cost reducing artifacts (such as the Medallions) or other
cost reducing items affect the cost of splice or flashback?

For example, if I have a Ruby Medallion in play ("Your red spells cost
{1} less to play") --

Does a spell with splice cost of {1R} now cost {R} to splice?

Does a spell (in my graveyard) with flashback cost of {2R} now cost {1R}
to play again?

Or does "cost to play" only include the cost printed on the upper-right
corner?

Thanks.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Fri, 17 Jun 2005 19:29:19 -0600, Rudolf <rthered@bigfoot.com> wrote:
>I'm curious if cost reducing artifacts (such as the Medallions) or other
>cost reducing items affect the cost of splice or flashback?

They affect the mana-cost-or-alternate-cost + additional costs, as explained in
409.1f . Since buyback is an additional cost, it gets added in before cost
reductions are applied. Since splice costs are additional costs, they get added
in before cost reductions are applied.

>For example, if I have a Ruby Medallion in play ("Your red spells cost
>{1} less to play") --
>
>Does a spell with splice cost of {1R} now cost {R} to splice?

No. The entire spell, mana cost + 1R, has its cost reduced by 1. The cost
reduction does NOT APPLY SEPARATELY to the splice cost. Also, the Ruby
Medallion looks at the color of the SPELL, not the color of the CARDS being
spliced onto it.

If you are splicing this -card- onto a spell whose cost is 1WW, then the
total cost will be 2RWW; this is a white spell, so is unaffected.

If you are splicing this card onto a spell whose cost is 1RR, then the
total cost will be 1RRR = 1RR + 1R - 1. It will NOT be just RRR.

>Does a spell (in my graveyard) with flashback cost of {2R} now cost {1R}
>to play again?

Yes. Since flashback costs are alternate costs, they get used in place of
the mana cost, before applying any cost reductions.

>Or does "cost to play" only include the cost printed on the upper-right
>corner?

No, that is the "mana cost". If something wants to refer to that it will
say "mana cost". "Cost to play" is the mana-cost-or-alternate-cost, plus
any additional costs, minus any cost reductions.

[The one exception to the ordering is Trinisphere; its "this must have
converted mana cost of at least 3" is applied after all cost reductions.]

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

it is usualy useful to note that splicing 4 candles glow onto a
glacial ray with 4 ruby medalions in play will only cost 1WWWWR to
play

On 17 Jun 2005 22:38:50 -0400, dbd@gatekeeper.vic.com (David DeLaney)
wrote:

>On Fri, 17 Jun 2005 19:29:19 -0600, Rudolf <rthered@bigfoot.com> wrote:
>>I'm curious if cost reducing artifacts (such as the Medallions) or other
>>cost reducing items affect the cost of splice or flashback?
>
>They affect the mana-cost-or-alternate-cost + additional costs, as explained in
>409.1f . Since buyback is an additional cost, it gets added in before cost
>reductions are applied. Since splice costs are additional costs, they get added
>in before cost reductions are applied.
>
>>For example, if I have a Ruby Medallion in play ("Your red spells cost
>>{1} less to play") --
>>
>>Does a spell with splice cost of {1R} now cost {R} to splice?
>
>No. The entire spell, mana cost + 1R, has its cost reduced by 1. The cost
>reduction does NOT APPLY SEPARATELY to the splice cost. Also, the Ruby
>Medallion looks at the color of the SPELL, not the color of the CARDS being
>spliced onto it.
>
>If you are splicing this -card- onto a spell whose cost is 1WW, then the
>total cost will be 2RWW; this is a white spell, so is unaffected.
>
>If you are splicing this card onto a spell whose cost is 1RR, then the
>total cost will be 1RRR = 1RR + 1R - 1. It will NOT be just RRR.
>
>>Does a spell (in my graveyard) with flashback cost of {2R} now cost {1R}
>>to play again?
>
>Yes. Since flashback costs are alternate costs, they get used in place of
>the mana cost, before applying any cost reductions.
>
>>Or does "cost to play" only include the cost printed on the upper-right
>>corner?
>
>No, that is the "mana cost". If something wants to refer to that it will
>say "mana cost". "Cost to play" is the mana-cost-or-alternate-cost, plus
>any additional costs, minus any cost reductions.
>
>[The one exception to the ordering is Trinisphere; its "this must have
>converted mana cost of at least 3" is applied after all cost reductions.]
>
>Dave
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Gareth Pye <gareth@gpsatsys.com.au> wrote:
>it is usualy useful to note that splicing 4 candles glow onto a
>glacial ray with 4 ruby medalions in play will only cost 1WWWWR to play

Correct; the Glacial Ray's a red spell. The Candle's Glows are white cards,
but that generally doesn't matter - they're just adding their text (and
additional splice cost) to the Ray spell. So 1R (Ray) + 4x1W (4 Glows) - 4
(4 Ruby Medallions) = 1WWWWR, yes.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.