Does this seem like a good PC build?

vivekperi

Reputable
Apr 30, 2014
Hi, I'm new to building computers and whatnot. I needed a gaming rig for under $700 and this is the primary hardware that I put together:-

Proc:- AMD FX-8320 (planning on overclocking it to 8350 levels)

MoBo:- MSI 990FXA-GD65

GPU:- Sapphire Radeon R7-260X

RAM:- 2x4GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333MHz

PSU:- Corsair VS650 650 Watt

1366x768 monitor (will probably buy a new monitor in the near future, thinking of a 23" 1080p display)

HDD:- Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200RPM (this will be the only HDD in the computer), SATA 6 GBPS

Does this seem like a good rig? I've been reading about this stuff online, I'm going to use it for heavy video editing and moderate to heavy gaming. Is there a bottleneck in this setup? Please let me know. Also, I'm probably going to use stock cooling on the 8320, and I know that's going to cause temperature trouble. Advice, anyone?

P.S. More specifically, I'm planning on doing some Let's Plays on YouTube, and I'm gonna need an "okay" gaming PC. Yeah, I know there are tons of Let's Players out there, but I want to see if I can do something...different.

Solution
I would recommend RAM with 16 gigs capacity and minimum 1886MHz speed.
Buy SSD + HDD like 120GB SSD + 2TB HDD. For HDD I would recommend WD Black/Blue Caviar series
If you've budget go for 1080p monitor with good refresh rate.

vivekperi

Reputable
Apr 30, 2014

Is the RAM frequency a problem? I mean, I could upgrade to 12 or 16 gigs with 2 more sticks when my need for it increases. Could I just apply an overclock to my RAM, I mean, if that's even possible? An SSD will not be possible at this time.

On a side note, I'm 16, and my parents are funding this system. I'm kinda outta options....if I can mod any of the current setup, that'd be great....

SquirrelPhantom

Reputable
Mar 19, 2014