Dual Pumps control with GRID V3

SHUNKZ

Commendable
Nov 11, 2016
Hi,

I am a bit of a noob when it comes to wiring.

For spec details - My current build log is at http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-3668137/build-log-duncans-rgb-aussie.html

I currently have 2 x EKWB D5 PWM Water Pumps and the Grid V3+ Fan Controller. I was wondering how I connect the pumps up so they can be controlled? I beleive if we answer the below 3 questions it will solve my problem.

Question 1: Can the Grid V3+ control the PWM D5 Pumps as well as the fans (Obviously it will be on a different channel to the fans).
Question 2: Do I have to plug in both the molex and PWM cables when operating my water pumps or can I just use the PWM cables.
Question 3: Is the W_PUMP+ port on my mobo PWM controlled.

With the above 3 questions answered what option should I use.

Option 1:
-Connect 2 x PWM Cables (D5 Water Pump) to the W_PUMP+ port on my mother board using a Y-Splitter.
-Connect 2 x Molex Cables (D5 Water Pump) to the PSU.
-Control all fans to the Grid V3+

Option 2:
-Connect 2 x PWM Cables (D5 Water Pump) to the Grid V3+
-Control all fans and the 2 x D5 water pumps with the Grid V3+

Option 3:
One of the above 2 options without the Molex cables plugged in.

Solution
Two D5 pumps ? I can't think about something practical beside redundancy or two separate loops.

to your questions:
1. yes it can.
2. of course you have to plug both cables. The 4pin fan cable on the pump have 1 wire for PWM signal and one for returning RPM. The molex cable is actually providing power.
3. You can check in BIOS.

It's not important what option you use. Basically, the pumps should always run at constant speed providing about 1gpm flow.
If for whatever reason adjustment of the pumps speed is required, it is more convenient to have all controls in one place - either everything on MB or on Grid.

As a side note, you building beautiful, shinny and expensive system with very inefficient cooling.