[SOLVED] Dual WAN Connections (Pfsense/RouterOS)

Pyneappel

Honorable
May 28, 2016
I'm building out a home server closet/lab. The house has 16 Cat6A cable runs and there will be a few servers in a rack. I'll end up with stuff that's overkill, but I'm new to this and trying to learn more than how to unbox an unmanaged switch. I'll probably have two internet connections; one faster but with a data cap and one slower but unlimited data. Right now I'm thinking I'll get the Mikrotik CRS328-24P-4S+RM.

I've been reading/watching YT vids about using Pfsense to manage two WAN connections. My question is this; With that Mikrotik switch and (presumably) RouterOS, would I still need a separate Pfsense box to route internet traffic to two WAN ports? Or can I accomplish that in this scerario without a separate Pfsense box? If possible, I'd like one or two servers to use the slower internet and the rest of the house to use the faster.

Solution
The last time I did this I just used a old computer I had sitting around and put a 4 port nic card in it.

How large a pc you need depends on many things. Mostly it depends on how cpu intensive the rules you want to run are. Simple things like routing based on destination take nothing but routing based on say port numbers or source IP is a bit more but still not much. VPN is the big one that would require careful planning.

That said are you sure you even need a router to do this. The method I have used lately is to let the end device control where they go. I take 1 router and let it run like normal and assign IP say 192.168.1.1. I then take the router going to the other ISP and disable the DHCP server function and set...