Endless Whispers and non-creature cards

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

What happens when a card that is temporarily a creature (but is not a
creature card itself) goes to the graveyard while Endless Whispers is in
play?

Endless Whispers:

Each creature has "When this creature is put into a graveyard from play,
choose target opponent. That player puts this creature card from that
graveyard into play under his or her control at end of turn."

For example, Chimeric Egg:

Whenever an opponent plays a nonartifact spell, put a charge counter on
Chimeric Egg.
Remove three charge counters from Chimeric Egg: Chimeric Egg becomes a
6/6 artifact creature with trample until end of turn.

My confusion comes from the phrase "puts this CREATURE CARD" on Endless
Whispers. Clearly, the Egg won't be a creature card when it is in the
graveyard.

Similar issues abound for lots of other cards, Blinkmoth Nexus, Stalking
Stones, etc.

--
(Posted from an account used as a SPAM dump. If you really want to get
in touch with me, dump the 'jboes' and substitute 'mur'.)
________
Jeffery Boes <>< jboes@qtm.net
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Jeff Boes <jboes@qtm.net> wrote:

> What happens when a card that is temporarily a creature (but is not a
> creature card itself) goes to the graveyard while Endless Whispers is in
> play?

> My confusion comes from the phrase "puts this CREATURE CARD" on Endless
> Whispers. Clearly, the Egg won't be a creature card when it is in the
> graveyard.

It is referring to that particular card, even if it isn't creature at
that time.

202.2a If an ability of an object uses a phrase such as "this
[something]" to identify an object, where [something] is a category or
characteristic, it is referring to that particular object, even if it
isn't the appropriate category or characteristic at the time.
Example: An ability reads "Target creature gets +2/+2 until end of turn.
Destroy that creature at end of turn." The ability will destroy the
object it gave +2/+2 at the end of the turn, even if that object isn't a
creature anymore.
--
Daniel W. Johnson
panoptes@iquest.net
http://members.iquest.net/~panoptes/
039 53 36 N / 086 11 55 W
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Tue, 22 Jun 2004 14:13:17 GMT, Jeff Boes <jboes@qtm.net> wrote:
>What happens when a card that is temporarily a creature (but is not a
>creature card itself) goes to the graveyard while Endless Whispers is in
>play?

It will come back, under an opponent's control (the one who you choose
as the target of EW's ability), at end of turn. It won't turn itself back
into a creature, it'll just come into play normally. (Though if some
global-ish continuous effect was responsible for it being a creature, such
as Living Plane or March of the Machines, and that effect is still around, it
may turn into a creature -again- from that effect.)

>My confusion comes from the phrase "puts this CREATURE CARD" on Endless
>Whispers. Clearly, the Egg won't be a creature card when it is in the
>graveyard.

It should have been just "this card", but I think they felt that would cause
people to get confused and wonder whether the _Endless Whispers_ was what
was being referred to. Tokens, of course, can't come back; the "this creature
card" is simply referring to what has the ability given by Endless Whispers.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.