Fan alignment in new build

Kyle_72

Commendable
Jun 15, 2016
I just built my new pc. My case nzxt s340 came with 2 fans in it. I believe they are both exhaust fans. One at the top and one in the back. I want to move the fan from the top to the front to get some airflow. https://goo.gl/photos/hy7hwjB57WZKArty7
https://goo.gl/photos/MBKStKQTRjAPoJzL6
Thats how I have the set up. Just want to know if I'm doing this right because I'm a noob.

Solution

140mm fans usually (not always, depending on the fan design) have better airflow at lower speeds (and sometimes lesser power draw) compared to their 120mm counterpart. The 140mm fan is also logical since your front fan mounting location does support such size. The entire fan diameter will fill up the whole front holes of the frame, and as such, would have better airflow, taking in outside air...
It's a good start. You NEED an intake fan, so, transferring one of the two included 120mm stock fans from the top to the front will be better (1 intake + 1 exhaust) than just having those two 120mm's as exhaust with no intake fan/s.

However, if I were you, I'd keep the two stock 120mm fans as exhaust and ADD two more 140mm fans as intakes:

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Case Fan: be quiet! - Pure Wings 2 61.2 CFM 140mm Fan ($11.79 @ SuperBiiz)
Case Fan: be quiet! - Pure Wings 2 61.2 CFM 140mm Fan ($11.79 @ SuperBiiz)
Total: $23.58
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2017-08-15 13:16 EDT-0400

Note that the S340 has a solid front panel and takes in the air from the top-front slat
NZXT-S340-controls.jpg

Thus, it's not really known for good airflow (due to the solid front panel), so, it's better to fill up both front intake fan slots with 140mm's (instead of 120mm's) to cover the entire fan slot opening for better air intake (than having a "void")
NZXT%20S340%20015.jpg