Question Fans spinning but no display and unresponsive caps lock

May 6, 2023
I was in my brother's pc's bios trying to turn on secure boot because Valorant required it, In the process I created a public key, enabled secure boot and clicked save and exit. When it restarted it had no display but the fans were spinning. This pc has worked perfectly fine for almost a year and now I encounter this issue

Things I have tried: I have reset CMOS by removing the battery and shorting the jumper, I have reseated the ram and gpu and rubbed its teeth with a eraser, I have tried using a different ram slot (there are only two), I have tried disconnecting all my drives to see if it posts because I have heard its a non essential component, I have tried using a spare PSU that I have that I know works, I think I have narrowed it down to three components the CPU, motherboard or GPU which could be causing the issue but of course I'm not a expert so I might be wrong about some things. I feel like its the motherboard thats the culprit but cant say for sure since I don't have a spare mobo or cpu. The pc is only a year old and I didn't expect it to start giving me problems so quick

Specs: cpu-intel 310100F
gpu- nvidia gt 1030
mobo- gigabyte h410mh v3
ram- some random cruicial 8gb ddr4 (1 stick)
psu-corsair cv450

My last resort is taking it to a pc shop but I'm posting it here just in case if I have overlooked something simple

Any help is appreciated

Last edited:
Solution
It's been a long time sonce I bought a mobo, so I don't think I can make a useful recommendation. You might try this. List out what you want to do with the machine, what parts you have already that you would like to keep, and what your budget is. Post this as a new thread asking for advice. Maybe specify which country you are in or where you can buy things. You will probably get lots of advice - enough to make it hard to choose.

Paperdoc

Polypheme
Ambassador