Question Fans won't work unless I swap the connections

Jul 19, 2022
I'm a major noob at anything inside my computer... today I noticed the top fan wasn't working... all other fans (the CPU fan and the remaining two case fans WERE working).

I start taking the plastic case apart in an attempt to clean the fan that wasn't running. When I reboot now all 3 case fans won't fun.

Long story short... what got them working again was swapping the connections; I have a gigabyte motherboard, one connection runs one fan the other runs to two other fans. I already have seen after multiple shutdowns and restarts the even after swapping the wires the fans will, again, not work after a restart from the power off. What the HECK do I do?????? At least I can keep working after swapping the wires... but how do I actually fix this problem so I don't have to swap wires just to get the fans to run?

Ralston18

Titan
Update your post to include full system hardware specs and OS information.

PSU: make, model, wattage, age, condition (original to build, new, refurbished, used)?

Disk drive(s): make, model, capacity, how full?

Make and model fans?

Test each fan individually.

Then test them in pairs.

Last test them all together in different configurations.

Likewise for the fan connectors. Methodically swap in known working fan cables, splitters, etc..

Hopefully just one bad fan or connection path.

JeffreyP55

Distinguished
Mar 3, 2015
I'm a major noob at anything inside my computer... today I noticed the top fan wasn't working... all other fans (the CPU fan and the remaining two case fans WERE working).

I start taking the plastic case apart in an attempt to clean the fan that wasn't running. When I reboot now all 3 case fans won't fun.