[SOLVED] Few RAM questions for a non "bling" AMD system I'm going to build.

Darkmatterx

Distinguished
Apr 8, 2003
Hi, I'm going to be building a new system and I've decided to go AMD this time around. I'll probably get the Ryzen 5900x since, from what I've read, PBO is sometimes noisier and often not as effective as all core. Of course, I'll have to FIND a 5900x first. :)

So, with all that in mind, I wasn't sure what RAM I should get? Fast and cool is what I'm looking for. Since I'm not going "bling" I don't need to worry about that.

For reference, I'm a photographer so I use Photoshop a lot, but I also do other things in video, so on top of not knowing the sweet spot for RAM speed/CL for a new build/new AMD CPU/new MB, I wasn't sure if I should get 32GB or 64GB? 64GB is generally major overkill for Photoshop, but, as I've recently learned, video editing hogs RAM like nobodies business! lol :) I have 16GB right now and it's just not enough for a lot of things.

The reason I'm not just getting more RAM is because this is an older system and it was time for an upgrade anyways. :)

BTW, it probably doesn't matter, but I have a GTX 1070 right now, which I'll be upgrading to a higher end 3000 series when I can actually find one. :)

Thanks,

DM

Solution
yah you got it backwards. PBO is almost always better than an all core OC. PBO or manual OC depend on quality cooling, so either way you should factor in some nice cooling to get the most out of the cpu.

as for ram, many many options for non rgb there. as noted above, the faster the better for Ryzen. at least 3600 but prices change all the time and you can often find even faster for similar money. not needed to spend $100 more for slightly fatser, but for a few bucks more a bit faster is worth it.