Question Fiber PCIE card and Transceiver

LittleCreekHosting

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2015
I need to know if these will work together and if not can you make any recommendations.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B003CFATYW

The only real information that has been given to me by the provider (Cogent) is:

Single Mode
LC
1 gbps

I can see the connector is blue on there end.

They told me to set my equipment to 1000mbps Full Duplex, Auto-Negotiate OFF

My equipment above is being used in a Linux machine running CentOS 7.9.

I have not been able to make a connection using the above so I was thinking of trying this
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LZRSQM9 with the same card.

When I power up the machine it sees its there. I can run ethtool on it and I can see the details of the transceiver. It seems to me it should work but the state is always "down." I cannot seem to make it come "up."

Can somebody please help me with this? I am new to trying to make fiber work.

I assume you get a different error if you were to check the card with not SFP plugged in at all.

What SFP works with what cards is still a massive headache. Some vendors like cisco or hp intentionally make their equipment incompatible with more generic SFP. They want to sell you a identical product for 10 times the price that has a special code in it that the switch looks for.

Generally you see other errors rather than it just being down.

What you are using is not very common for internet. This would more be used for a private point to point fiber connection. I requires 2 dedicated strands of fiber all the way between the locations. What you much more commonly see when people talk fiber to the home etc is a single fiber strand that is shared by many houses. They use very special optics and a run a protocol called GPON to control access between the clients. What you are using is standard gigabit ethernet hardware.