[SOLVED] First build - PC restarting while gaming

Dec 1, 2021
Hey all,

Like the title says this is my first build and I'm starting to get regular restarts after about a month of use; that being gaming and general use.
I haven't got a BSOD or anything yet, and it runs fine during general use and idle.

While writing this, chrome (with a few tabs open) is the only application open and I'm getting a temp of ~43° and shortly before these restarts, I'm getting temps around ~75°C in the middle of games. I've also been finding the Windows 10 error Event ID 41 ‘Kernel-Power’ after these restarts. I admittedly cheaped out on the one thing I was repeatedly told not to cheap out on (the PSU, I know I know) and just went with the wattage that was recommended by the GPU manufacturer (550W). I'm going to check the cables connecting to the PSU, but I also suspect I mighta smeared the thermal paste when I attached my CPU cooler (admittedly it was a bit of a struggle getting it on haha). If that's the case, is there a specific process to go about de-attaching the cooler and re-applying thermal paste?

Appreciate any and all help folks!

My specs are:
CPU:
Ryzen 5 5600X
CPU cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black
Mobo: MSI B550M Pro-VDH micro atx
Memory: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16gb (2x8gb)
Storage: WD_Black SN750 SE 1tb
GPU: MSI Geforce RTX 3060 12gb
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA GM 550W 80+ Gold

Solution
If you decide to redo your thermal paste, this is the method I use.

After removing the cooler, remove the old thermal paste from both surfaces using a coffee filter and high % isopropyl alcohol. Like 90% or higher. The coffee filters don't leave any dust, residue, etc. After removing the visible amounts of old paste, use a new filter and polish both surfaces. You will still get some grayish residue on the filter.