First PC build - suggestions needed

Oct 3, 2018
Before getting into the standard format for this type of post, I thought a bit of background might help. I currently have a laptop which is reaching the end of its life and needs replacing. I haven’t made use of its (limited) portability and so I’m looking to upgrade to a PC. I'm an engineering student and I'd like to be able to run CAD and computing software like MATLAB on my PC, and I'd also like to be able to run Ableton Live. However, I’ve never built a PC before and, even after reading various guides, I’m not confident in my ability to pick between all the slightly varying components on the market. Therefore, I thought it best to seek advice from those more in-the-know: hopefully you lovely people on this forum.
Other than that, if there’s anything I’ve not specified please let me know!

Approximate Purchase Date: ASAP, preferably within a month.

Budget Range: £700-800 (not including parts already purchased).

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Software usage (e.g. CAD using AutoDesk, MATLAB), music composition, possible future gaming.

Are you buying a monitor: No.

Parts to Upgrade: Case, mobo, cpu, gpu, psu, ram, storage, cooling… The works essentially, except I have already bought a Samsung]https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B078WQT6S6/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1]Samsung MZ-76E500B/EU 500 GB 860 EVO Sata III 64L V NAND Solid State Drive [/url] which I’ll be using in the build.

Do you need to buy OS: Yes, Windows.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: No specific preference but ideally cheap and reliable.

Parts Preferences: I’ve had in mind going for an AMD build but that isn’t based on any real knowledge so I’m open to having my mind changed.

Overclocking: Maybe but would prefer not to.

SLI or Crossfire: Can’t see myself using two graphics cards.

Your Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080