First Time Build

Robotic Taco

Commendable
Jul 27, 2016
This is my first time building any type of PC, and I am trying to make a gaming one. I have been using a console up to now. I came up with this build so far.

CPU
i5-6600K
$260

Motherboard
Z170 HD3
$105

Graphics card
RX 480
$260

RAM
DDR3 8gb
$34

Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500gb
$160

PSU
Corsair SF450
$90

Case
Cougar MX200
$30

Monitor
Asus G257HU
$270

Keyboard/Mouse
HAVIT Rainbow Backlit
$30

Total
$1209

I am probably going to be playing FPSs like COD and Overwatch.
My main questions are:
-Are these parts good
-Are they compatible
-Do I have everything I need
-How can I make it cheaper without sacrificing performance
-Can I connect an Xbox One controller
-Any advice for a new pc gamer
-How do you overclock, and why

Thanks.

Solution
With this you will get more than double the performance of the RX480 with the 1070 i've put in.
Sacrifices had to be made, such as an SSD for the boot drive, but I believe that this is the best you can do with your money full stop.
I did go a bit over, but only to get a nicer looking case for you with a better building experience.
If you want to stay within budget, get the Bitfenix Nova case.

The HDD was a good deal, so I went for the 2TB version over the 1TB version, which is at 5400RPM vs 7200RPM, but you shouldn't notice a big difference. I thought that you will easily use 1TB of space, and then find yourself needing to spend more to get another hard drive or SSD, so I just decided to go for it.

I've used the same budgeting scheme...

Robotic Taco

Commendable
Jul 27, 2016

Honestly I don't know, how can I tell? I am still pretty clueless about most of this stuff.
Thanks for the fast reply.

450w is plenty for the RX480, however you can do much better with this build, as there are some poor quality components in there. A 500GB SSD is unneccesary, get a 250GB SSD and 1TB HDD, it will serve you much better.
You need an aftermarket cooler with k CPUs by the way.