from a 7950 960 4GB or 970

deadeye22

Distinguished
Mar 28, 2009
Hi i currently have a 7950 which is turning 4 years old now and its almost ''dead'' since its been crashing and acting weird so im looking for an upgrade. I have a coolermaster silent pro gold 600W PSU so i excluded the 390 for my purchase. I cant get any 960 for 250 euros and for 970's i really want the FTW+ which is 420 euros... Strix versions and G1 are 390 euros. My question is will it be an upgrade or a downgrade to go for the cheaper choice which is the 960. It quite a difference in moeny so i am really considering it.

Solution

your power supply is tier 3 and:

00-Power-Consumption-R9-290-Accelero-XIII-OC.png

that is why a GOOD ( tier 1 or 2 unit ) 650w+ is recommended for a 290(x)/390(x)

The 960 will perform about the same as your 7950, so not an upgrade. The 970 is quite an upgrade, but at a much higher price, so you'll need to decide if you can afford it.
Are you saying you can't get a 390 because of your PSU? I run a 290X on a 600W PSU and have no issues. Your PSU is an OK model and would handle a 390.

Would you keep the 7950 if you could get it working smoothly again?

If the answer is yes, download DDU (icon below will take you to the download page), run it, and it will ask if it can go into Safe Mode. Select Yes. The computer will restart and go into Safe Mode, and then offer you 3 choices. Choose the top choice (recommended), and let it clean up the bits and pieces of video drivers and their settings out.

When it is done, restart the computer, and when it gets back to the desktop, download and install the latest AMD video drivers.

See if that resolves the crashing problems for you.

deadeye22

Distinguished
Mar 28, 2009