Going out of my mind!

justin.tadej

Prominent
Oct 27, 2017
Hello! Total beginner here!
I got an issue,or a problem i just don`t know anymore! I recently switched from an MSI Z170A PC mate motherboard to a GIGABYTE Z270X-Ultra Gaming. And after the first boot and a fresh windows install,everything seem to work well. But the next day it all started to go down....First i can hear,and see the CPU fan slowing down and speeding back up! Not a lot it doesn`t fully stop or anything,but it`s noticeable. Then if i restart my pc the fan just stops,and it looks like it wants to start but it doesn't. Only when the cpu temp. hits 42 °C it spins up really loud,and then stops again! Repeating that over and over again. Only if i power it down and power it on again it starts spinning normaly. Also my GPU is acting strange,Just now while only browsing the processor load spiked to 83% And it`s really inconsistent...at times it just jumps. Is that normal? I just need to know is it the mobo? is it the CPU fan? Is it the GPU? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LOKpt2M5xNY this is what it looks like after restart!
Here are my specs: Intel Core i7-6700
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Windows 10
Oh if it`s relevant i got my GPU on a raiser card...if that might affect anything!

Thanks in advanced any help to shine some light on this will be appreciated.

Solution

Probably yes, but the recommended PSU for a GTX 1080 TI is 600w.

What about this...

Lutfij

Titan
Alright, now, did you reinstall your OS and the pertaining motherboard chipset+drivers after you swapped the boards? It'd also be a good thing to see if your motherboard BIOS is up to date. Manually update your BIOS(within BIOS using a USB drive).

Might it be possible to pass on your full system's specs like so:
CPU: i7-6700(K/non-K?)
Motherboard:
Ram:
SSD/HDD:
GPU:
PSU:
Chassis:

justin.tadej

Prominent
Oct 27, 2017
Yes i did a fresh install of windows. I havent installed any motherboard drivers yet! I will try the bios update too.