GPU and CPU WEIRD problems. Looking for a newer CPU help is Needed!

Mar 27, 2018
I want to say sorry from advance because my PC hardware knowledge is not the best and so is my english

So about a year ago i bought a new GPU the gtx 970, before that i had like a gtx 560 or something like that if i remember correctly. my cpu was intel i7 3770 i had a 400W power supply. as i installed my new gpu everything worked correctly until i started playing the games i was playing before the new gpu. doesnt matter which graphics and settings i played on (i tried all of them) my pc kept crashing after 5 minutes of gameplay. long story short we ended up switching all of my hardware 1 by 1 to see where the problem is. we upgraded my power supply to 700W we tried switching from 2 stick of 4 ram each to 1 stick with 8 but then switch back to 2 stick of 4ram because it didnt help. we checked if stuff were overheatting but it seemd fine so we had no idea what is causing the crashes. until we switched to an old motherboard and cpu that we laying around. my pc stopped crashing after that.
the problem is now that im rocking a really old cpu - "Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E7500 @ 2.93GHz, 2936 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)" and an asus motherboard that i dont even know its name. i can only tell you that it is brownish with blue box with the asus logo(only way that i knew its even asus). and with my new GPU - gtx 970. my power supply is 700W. i have 8GB Ram.

the thing is that on games i need to lower my graphics a lot so i dont get fps drops and lag, and my textures load extremly slow and on GTA V my game loads really really slow and textures of the game disappear when driving around the city.

so i have a few question:
1. im assuming this texture bugs and slow loading and everything is because i have a really old CPU and a really good GPU so they cant handle stuff?