Hardware firewalls and routers for home developer and IT

saintsfan0990

Commendable
Jun 18, 2016
I have been studying computer technolodgy for many years. It is first and foremost my favorite activity. I want to venture into the world of security and networking. I am running several services on my home pc for multiple reasons. I am working on a few dev apps and other things and also want to run a full time server to support those activities, from the comfort of my home. I will most likely need to employ a technolodgy such as free dns since my IP provider only provides dynamic IP addresses and they cycle monthly. However, I want to keep my activities safe. I currently live in a shared building with a coaxial drop for what I believe is broadband. I plug my C3700-100NAS directly into my coaxial drop and connect to the internet. The cable company here also provides boxes but I choose to use my own because I am familiar with the features. However, I feel I am begining to outgrow its features. I am heavily studied in IT and understand the idea behind ports, mac address and IP addresses. My router already have some pretty nifty features such as port blocking/fowarding, a very basic activity log but only keeps up to the last 100 or so messages which is no good for me because I need to be able to log and store data over a long period of time in order to conduct analytics, some other features such as sticky mac and remote management, and I think you get the gist. Truth is that the router it's self is fairly decent, but I would like something preferably with shell access, multiple account access so I can issue accounts with restricted privledges to utlize tools such as remote management, network instrusion detection features, and advanced logging features so I can keep a record of all the data that comes and and leaves through my coaxial. It would be a plus if it also had a nicer user interface than that of my netgear router because even though it is sufficient it is not cust