Question Have I killed the motherboard? ASUS K55a

Nov 2, 2019
Hi Everyone,

Computer Specifications:
Asus K55A Laptop (uses Asus K55VD Motherboard)
Power: cable-mounted DC Jack (https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/...GmV7rf8QCOH3b7zFsRwQd3F3z3Fpq7phbwgosPRk3RD7b)

Disclaimer: I'm familiar with hardware components and replacement, but i'm new to soldering/electrical

So, this is my mothers laptop. We got it in 2013, so it's served it's purpose for quite a long time. One of the issues this laptop has always had is it burns through chargers, but it's also always had a loose DC port which has never helped the situation. The battery died about 2 years ago, which is fine, since it's usually always plugged in anyway, so we've never really replaced it. Recently, the charger started playing up again. After investigation, I found that the DC port (positive pin in the inside) was extremely loose and well worn.

I decided to pop down to the shop and pick up a PCB Male Connector (2.5mm). The bloke in there said it might work, but it might not. The laptop has a cable-mounted power-jack (see above picture). So, I cut off the original DC port, which left me with 6 wires. 3 positive, and 3 negative. it's a 6-pin.

Hooked it up to the new port, power was going through, but no response from the computer (no LEDs, nothing etc). About 4 hours later after playing around, it switched on with the new jack. After that, I thought all was fine, assembled the laptop back together, pushed the power button, and nothing. It's been like this since.

Along the way, I'd made a few sparks here and there on the DC Jack due to wires colliding etc.

But, 2 days later, there is still no power going through. I tried the old DC port again, but I cut the wiring to it so that it doesn't really have a solid connection, and since that port is broken, it's not a definite solution that points to the motherboard being fried.