Having problems with port forwarding

bee_kay

Prominent
Jan 10, 2018
I'm new to such port forwarding stuffs(i.e. I haven't port forwarded a single port yet). My ultimate purpose for port forwarding is to forward the port to raspberry pi in order to remotely access it.
I have connected pi through the ethernet.
I haven't set the ip to be static (It would be helpful to know why we need to set the ip to static)
I have created a port forwarding configuration.
But whenever I try to access pi through remote desktop connection, the connection fails.
Also, checking the port through various online port checker results in a closed port.

Port forwarding is required when you are using NAT to allow a number of devices to use the internet with only public IP address and you want one of those devices to receive requests from the internet. Normally, a request to you public IP address will just be dropped. So, we setup a rule that if a request comes in on a certain port, that request will forwarded to device X that is on private IP address X.X.X.X . Now, most home networks use DHCP (Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol) to assign IP addresses to the internal devices. Since that assignment is dynamic, device X could be on X.X.X.10 one day and X.X.X.13 the next. If the IP address of your device changes, then the port forwarding rule (with a specific IP address) won't work. So, we use a static address that does not change (although, using a MAC-IP binding in DHCP will accomplish the same thing).

I have used the port checking websites and they will sometimes give a false negative. I like to use a smart phone so that I can quickly switch from inside the network (WiFi) to outside (cell network). Of course this only works if there is a phone app that will access your service.

So, on to the port forwarding.
First, I like to test my service from inside the network. This ensures the service is working properly.