Question Help! eyestrain between IPS and VA

scyleri

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2014
I've been using the Philips 24M1N3200VA for 2 months or so with no eyestrain issues whatsoever (even before i got the dvi cable to use it at 165hz) however a few weeks ago i got the LG 29wp60g ultrawide and im noticing immediate eyestrain from the first second i start looking at it, i tried to adjust every single setting possible and while the image looks great the eyestrain persists especially it comes to non gaming activities. I do have astigmatism but i never experienced any eyestrain on the VA Philips monitor however the IPS LG one is really noticeable which is a shame because i love the ultrawide, is there anything i can do besides looking for a ultrawide VA monitor? From what i understand VA is supposed to be the cheaper alternative to IPS which is true for regular 16:9 but for ultrawide the cheapest VA is twice as expensive as the IPS alternative.

My guess the issue isn't the difference between VA & IPS but the different refresh rates those monitors have. The Philips has a 165Hz refresh rate which is beyond what the human eye can perceive. However, the LG only has a 75Hz refresh rate which is at the edge of perception for some people. This is similar to how CFLs flicker at 60Hz which can cause headaches for some people. I would say get an ultrawide with a higher refresh rate.

scyleri

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2014
My guess the issue isn't the difference between VA & IPS but the different refresh rates those monitors have. The Philips has a 165Hz refresh rate which is beyond what the human eye can perceive. However, the LG only has a 75Hz refresh rate which is at the edge of perception for some people. This is similar to how CFLs flicker at 60Hz which can cause headaches for some people. I would say get an ultrawide with a higher refresh rate.