Question Help me choose between these 4 laptops

WimadS

Honorable
Dec 13, 2013
Hi all,

I am looking for a new laptop to serve me the coming 5 years in my work as a designer.
My current VAIO flip laptop cracked the screen out of nowhere (was very disappointed with the build quality from the beginning), and the touch/active stylus functionality is now disfunctional. And in any case its now 5 years old, so was starting to run into hardware limitations anyway (though it still does run well enough, could have gotten a year more out of it at least if it wasn't so crappily constructed).

So what am I looking for:

Budget: +/- €1400

I am a designer, so all graphic software like Photoshop should run smoothly. I do some light video editing as well, but not heavily nor regularly.
I do use 2D cad software regularly (AutoCAD/vectorworks).
I use 3D CAD as well, but that is more incidental. Doesn't have to run on optimal performance, but should run without hickups. (OnShape, Solidworks, Vectorworks 3D).
I do regularly use Dialux (3D lighting calculation software).
On occasion I do some programming in Max7, which can be demanding on CPU, and to lesser extent on GPU. This is where I'm starting to experience the limits of my current VAIO most clearly.

I do love the 2 in 1 laptop/tablet design with active stylus functionality of my VAIO flip, so that would be a big preference to have in my next laptop, though it is not an absolute must. I love doing my sketching work in Clips Studio Paint with the active stylus.

Build quality is also very important to me. My VAIO flexes like it is a piece of cardboard. Found out when opening to clean the fan, that half the screw threads that keep the body together had broken off. The hinge is also not solidly in place any longer... and its not like I did any outrageous stuff handling it. Design and specs were great, but I don't want anything like that crappy construction again.