Help needed to delete an "inaccessible" folder in win10-64, DELL XPS13-9360

peterh337

Honorable
May 5, 2016
To cut a long story short, I did a restore from a website using rsync but rsync seems to do something on win10 which it doesn't do on anything earlier, namely it writes the folders and files with some mix of privileges which nothing I have tried can get around. The well worn route of "taking ownership" etc just takes you in circles saying access is denied, whatever I do. I am an Administrator of course... but on windoze that means very little.

It is not a case of some process grabbing the folder. I can rename it ok, and have done so. So I could just forget about it... except that it is taking up 40GB - it contains many thousands of files. If it was just a rogue process holding it, that can be solved with tools like Unlocker which delete on boot. I have tried that... Unlocker says it was deleted successfully!

I found out the rsync issue with this
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/36723288/rsync-on-windows-cannot-access-copied-folders
and sure enough adding the --chmod command to rsync now writes the stuff nicely. But I still need to delete that inaccessible folder.

At times past, winXP, I was able to boot from a Ubuntu DVD and delete anything like this. But this XPS13 is all secure and moreover the SATA controller appears as RAID, so you are doubly screwed.

Is there some way to do this? I would really appreciate any advice or would pay for it.

peterh337

Honorable
May 5, 2016
I had a look at windirstat and it doesn't seem to have any capability to clear out a privilege issue.
The command prompt I know (I am ex CP/M and DOS assembler + C programmer) but how would that help? Is it possible to run the chmod command on a directory tree?

peterh337

Honorable
May 5, 2016
When I try to change any of the access privileges I get

An error occurred while applying security information to:
[pathname]
Failed to enumerate objects in the container. Access is denied.