Question Help on what to buy for new condo networking

Dec 16, 2022
Hello,

I have purchased a new 2 bedroom condominium in Mexico and I am trying to plan how to configure my home network. It's my first time to attempt a setup that is more complicated than mesh, so I am grateful for any feedback you guys can provide.

I intend to have the telephone company install my fiber optic modem in the laundry room, which is where the telephony cabinet and breaker switches are located. I would like to have everything mounted and flushed onto that wall. I anticipate having the following equipment:

• 1 fiber optic modem, provided by the Mexican telco. I am considering either a 500 MBPS or 1 GBPS plan.
  • 1 TP-Link Deco M5 router, which has been flashed for VPN use. I use this only for streaming TV services, since the condo is located in Mexico.
  • 1 or 2 switches (Is it possible to have 1 switch that can handle 2 networks, the Mexican Internet network provided by the Telco and the US VPN network provided by the TP-Link Deco M5 router)?

I intend to have ethernet cables for both networks (Mexican and US VPN) run to various locations throughout the condo. Some of these will run to the back side of my televisions so that I can hook the television and Apple TV devices up via Ethernet cable. Others will run areas of the bedrooms and living room where I would like to have wifi nodes to be able to use my wireless devices to connect to the Mexican network provided by the telco. I don't need to access the US VPN network via wifi. I tend to run the ethernet cabling for both networks to all locations however, just so that it's available in case I need it in the future.

Questions:
  1. Am I thinking of the right configuration / equipment requirement for what I am trying to achieve?
  2. Can anyone recommend an organization system to mount everything to the wall in my laundry room in a neat and orderly manner?