[SOLVED] Help please, memory upgrade, fail to post, black screen .

Jun 14, 2021
Ryzen 5 3600
MSI B450m Mortar Max
RX 6700xt, 2x4gb hyperx fury ddr4 3200mhz >> (Swapped to corsair 16gb)

So msi says its compatible.. on their site.. but my new corsair 2x8gb vengeance pro's with ddr4 3200 + rgb will not boot my system into bios.... just black screen of death. if i put the old sticks back in, i can post bios and boot from there fine.

I've tried a bunch of slots, single stick, dual channel, keeping the old and mixing the new.. etc nothing will work for me. i'm new to this and it's been p frustrating.. some others on the net told me its a fringe case and to try another brand of ram..

Solution
..its all so tiresome. i havent even bought my first pc game yet. had this thing for 5 days.. can anyone save my system?
Try this.
Put the old ram in the machine.
Power up and enter the bios.
Turn of xmp.
Exit and boot make sure everything functions.
Go to the mobo site and install the latest bios and chipset driver.
Reboot and make sure everything functions.
Remove old ram and install one stick of new ram in the proper slot...see the manual.
See if it will boot.
Switch off your PC. Disconnect the power cord from the wall outlet
Put the 2 new Corsair sticks in slots A2 and B2.
Now , you have to do a clear CMOS: the simplest is to take out the cell battery from your motherboard for 10 minutes.
After that, replace the battery: reconnect electricity, and try to boot.
And refer to your mobo's manual if needed
https://download.msi.com/archive/mnu_exe/mb/E7B89v1.1.pdf

Reactions: DuduGaymer
Jun 14, 2021
Ok, i powered down, unplugged all, removed the old ram, inserted the new into a2, b2, and removed the cmos battery for 15+ mins.

I tried turning the machine on again and the same issue, black screen, wont boot with delete key (pressing or holding). my cpu debugger light is on btw, as it was before if i didnt mention it.

Should i try to cycle it again?

Jun 14, 2021