Help with RGB setup on MSI Z390M motherboard

Kingsmash

Reputable
Oct 23, 2014
I am building a new computer and have just bought a MSI Z390M Gaming Edge AC motherboard. My objective is to sync motherboard rgb, memory rgb, graphics card rgb (not sure if possible), and rgb fans (up to 5 of them) in the cleanest way possible. I may very well choose Corsair rgb fans and I am completely new to rgb.

https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/mpg-z390m-gaming-edge-ac

1. Can I do the same sorts of things with MSI Mystic Light as with a separate rgb fan controller? (I am currently deciding between the NZXT h400 and h400i and would prefer the h400)

2. [strike]Do I understand correctly that the JCORSAIR header is just Corsair's proprietary header, and it doesn't actually offer anything extra except Corsair compatibility? The micro ATX version of the motherboard (which I have) does not have a JCORSAIR header whereas the ATX version does. It seems like it may be a pretty sizable cost benefit to have the ATX version.[/strike] I got through to MSI support and they were at least able to clarify that the JCORSAIR header has been tested specifically to work with Corsair. They could not advise how JCORSAIR differed from a normal header or if Corsair rgb would work without a JCORSAIR header.

3. Does this mean I can't use Corsair rgb without a JCORSAIR header or a Corsair Lighting Node Pro?

4. Is it correct to presume that Corsair rgb can be synced with Mystic Light?

I am totally lost here. Can anyone suggest a setup? Many thanks for any help!

Solution