Question High Idle Latency across all devices

Oct 15, 2022
I seem to be having very strange latency and ping issues with my Deco P9 that I cannot get to the bottom of for the life of me. I am a complete networking newbie so any insight would be appreciated. I've found that all devices connected to my network, both wireless and wired, have horrible latency issues. Idle latency through speedtest.net normally is within the 1000ms range, but can spike easily up to 2000 regardless of the time of day.

I currently have the network set up so that my modem directly connects to the first P9 which wirelessly transmits to the other two points, and I have my main office computer connected to the first Deco via Ethernet.

These are my current results with PingPlotter (which I have no idea what to interpret from this) : View: https://i.imgur.com/AvuFsCX.png

Any help would be much appreciated in this, thank you all very much!

That is indeed very strange latency.

It appears you have no issues to your router or in your house. The problem appears to be in the connection between your house and the ISP. Since you see no packet loss this means it is not the much more common bad wires or poor signal levels. Packet loss the ISP in the central office has tools they can test with and this tends to get fixed pretty easy.

Latency though tends to almost always be a overloaded connection. So the first thing I would do turn off the wifi radios on the main router and only plug you pc in. You can also check the resource manager network tab to be sure your PC is not transferring stuff you do not know about.
The symptom you have is what it looks like if you try to test ping times when you are doing larger downloads and using up all the bandwidth. The test data is getting queued behind the file transfer and it can cause delays.