[SOLVED] How a Graphics Card draws power?

Sep 2, 2019
Hi everyone, I am rather new to the concept of building your own PC. I am looking at upgrade options for a low budget SFF (HP DC7900). However, I do not have a very clear understanding of how a Graphics Card draws power.

An example is:
A PCIe x16 port on my Motherboard supports up to 25W power.​
A Graphics Card that I have done basic research on (AMD Radeon HD 7770) requires 80W power but has a 6-pin connector
A PSU that I could potentially buy has about 500W total power (that's much more than what I currently have.)​
What I'm trying to understand is, if the PSU is going to provide all the power for the Card (or is it?), do I need to worry about the 25W Limit on the PCIe Slot?

Thanks in Advance

Solution
Yes. Cards themselves might be limited to a specific limit based on the type of card they are, but the PCIe x16 slot ITSELF, has to be capable of supporting the full 75w. That means you can use any 75w or lower card in any x16 PCIe 2.0 or 3.0 slot as long as it's a card that doesn't also require a six or eight pin connector. Then, you must also have a PSU with the required connector in order to use such a card.
PCIe x16 slot power has to be able to support up to 75w by specification.

A 6 pin connector has to be able to support 75w by specification.

An 8 pin connector has to be able to support 150w by specification.

So a graphics card with two 8 pin connectors could theoretically have the ability to draw up to 375w, but would typically draw considerably less than that, but could also technically spike to slightly more than that.

Buying an HD 7770, NOW, 7 years after it was manufactured, would be a really poor idea. Any HD 7770 has likely already seen the majority of it's useful life expectancy pass by. Unless you could get the card for less than fifty bucks, I'd pass.