[SOLVED] How can I now install Windows 7 Enterprise (Now I have changed HDD) or Windows 10 without Licence warning?

Jan 27, 2021
Hi all

I am a total newbie so if this topic has been answered before I apologise, although I can't see that this specific topic has been discussed.

So, my Pal has given me a nice Lenovo ThinkPad Laptop that his work were going to throw to landfill because the mechanical HDD is dying. There is a whirring noise from the drive and it only boots up 1 in 10 times. After a lot of messing about I got it to boot from the USB into a piece of software called Lazesoft. Once in Lazesoft I wrote down the Windows 7 Enterprise Licence key of the machine. I have now changed the HDD for an SSD and the machine boots up well. I initially wanted to re-install windows 7 enterprise on the machine and then later upgrade from Win 7 to Win 10. However, I couldn't find a way to do this so I gambled on downloading the Windows 10 creation tool from Microsoft's site and then tried inputting this Win 7 Licence number into the newly installed Windows 10 but it wasn't accepted. The machine works well but the windows 10 Nagging message is still shown in the bottom right corner. So, I either want to re-install Win 7 enterprise, but I don't have the installation disk. Or I somehow want to install Windows 10 and do away with the Win 10 nagging message. The thing that confuses me is over the past couple of years I have upgraded a few other PC's from earlier Windows operating systems and there has been no Windows 10 nagging message.
Any help guys? It's such a shame that this machine is deemed waste when I have now fixed the hardware side of things.

Solution
MS has allowed upgrades from valid Win 7/8.1 license to 10. There was an "official" period for this, which ran out several years ago. But it still works in 2021.

This was the likely case with your previous Dell systems.