[SOLVED] How does ZFS restore a corrupt file/sector?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Feb 12, 2022
I have no hands-on experience with ZFS or RAID in general.
I'm starting a project (a DIY file-server) and wanted to weigh up whether to use ZFS for it.

How exactly is a corrupt file restored/fixed/recovered on ZFS's RAID-Z1.

E.g.
Imagine I have 4 drives (10TB each) and one of the drives experiences a read error making the data on one of its sectors corrupt.

Does ZFS need to undergo a complete rebuild of the array?
Or does it have a mechanism to recover that single sector's worth of data?

I'd like to know for two reasons:
  1. The length of time I can expect ZFS to recover from the single faulty sector
  2. The amount of reading/writing that will occur as a result
Help greatly appreciated!

Solution
RAIDZ1 (if only 4 drives total to work with) is similar to RAID5, in that the data and parity are spread amongst the four drives, where even the complete failure of a drive would not result in the loss of any data, so, any data stored is still retrievable. Completely rebuilding /resilvering a drive should only be an issue when/if a drive is replaced. (Single drive redundancy when using large drives is not all that recommended these days due to possible failure of an additional drive during a potential hypothetical lengthy rebuild being catastrophic..)

The principle of ZFS correcting a potential minor data errors (drive 'forgets'/'drops' a bit , aka, 'bit-rot') in the background has been proven and tested by Wendell at Level1's YT...
For a first timer I would advise to stay away from ZFS until you have acquired a significant amount of knowledge. It's not for beginners. However, to answer the initial questions:

1. Single read errors are (if possible) corrected on the fly. You'll never see them.
  2. As above.