Question How is a message's protocol determined in wireshark?

xarzu

Distinguished
Apr 2, 2008
I am new to wireshark. I started watching one training video but it was long and I am looking for specific answers to questions to help in my coding job.

How is a message packet's protocol determined in wireshark? I have a .pcapng file I have been looking at and at first it seemed that the first three hex digits were the determining factor because they seemed to be unique to a protocol. But this is not the case. Instead they seem to be part of the destnation address.

Thanks in advance.

Also, just to be sure: the hexidesimal representation in the third frame window represents the whole package without anything added or taken away, right? Is this a correct assumption?

the protocols that I am interested in are:
ARP
HTTP
HTTP/JSON
MDNS
NBNS
TCP

I found some documentation online at documentation dot help: https://documentation.help/Wireshark/ChapterIntroduction.html#idp3107168

1.1.6. Many protocol decoders
There are protocol decoders (or dissectors, as they are known in Wireshark) for a great many protocols: see Appendix B, Protocols and Protocol Fields.
Appendix B. Protocols and Protocol Fields
Wireshark distinguishes between protocols (e.g. tcp) and protocol fields (e.g. tcp.port).
A comprehensive list of all protocols and protocol fields can be found at: http://www.wireshark.org/docs/dfref/
And there are lots of protocols listen here

For HTTP and HTTP/JSON the data stream I have from my .pcapng file contains a data backet which starts with a Destination address followed by a Source addrss and then there is something I find interesting. It is:

Type: IPv4 (0x0800)

And that is the same for HTTP as well as HTTP/JSON

So how do I determine the difference from tha packet data.

On the same location, we have (0x0806) for ARP
On the same location, we have (0x0800) for MDNS -- which is the same for HTTP, so this is not the answer