How is my set up for a beginner to pc?!? And what am I able to do with it

Wierdon5

Reputable
Jan 28, 2015
What do you think of this set up

Graphics-(AMD Radeon HD 7850 2GB DDR5)
Processor-(AMD A10-6800k 4.1GHZ overclocked up to 4.4GHZ)
Ram-(8gb)
Memory-(1TB)
Motherboard-(MSI Fm2 a75ma p33)
Power Supply - ( Corsair CX750M)
MSI case

I like I said before I am fairly new to pc, and I really need help on figuring out what I am able to do with it.

Wierdon5

Reputable
Jan 28, 2015
The reason I was asking because lately, I play arma 3 and I run the game at like 20fps which is annoying me. I was wondering if there anything I need to upgrade cause I am planing to upgrade. Like what would you possible recommend right now? I can't spent to much atm. I can only spent about 150-200$

The GPU isn't bad. But ARMA is pretty intense on the CPU.

The RAM is probably usable in a new board. If it is DDR3 1600 CL8 or better it's worth re-using. If you friend built a solid APU system, I bet he's got DDR3 1866-2133 or similar in it.

I'd suggest a motherboard and CPU.

Something like a Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3P + FX 6300 or 6350 can probably be had for $200 or so. Just look for them on sale.

The boxed stock cooler for the FX 6300 is bad, but I can say the FX 6350 stock cooler was very good, similar design to what the 8350 uses.

I think your performance would be a bit better, but at max settings on higher resolutions (over 1080), don't expect great frame rates on arma 3. It will barely pull 40fps with an i7 and a gtx 970. From the benchmarks I looked at doing several comparisons, running a little over 1080 on ultra setting at close to 70fps took an overclocked i7 and 2 gtx 770's sli'd. Try turning the graphics down some and/or try a lower resolution for arma 3.