Question I am confused about PSU connectors

Jul 1, 2023
hey everyone! I'm new to PC building, and have a question about power supplies. Sorry in advance if this is a stupid question, but some preliminary googling didn't give me any results.
I have a MSI MAG Z790 Tomahawk, that I plan to use with a i9 13900K. For a GPU, I was eyeing a RX 7900XTX, but I noticed something about power connectors that I would like to clarify before committing.
Thing is, the motherboard has two 8-pin connectors for the CPU, and I assume you need both of those, since the i9 is really power hungry, and the 7900XTX requires three of these as well. Most "sensible" modular PSUs (<1200W) only seem to have four of these. I've done the power calculations, and I won't need much more than 750W, so buying something much bigger seems unwise. How is that power setup supposed to work then, am I missing something?
thank you.

Aeacus

Titan
Ambassador
Most "sensible" modular PSUs (<1200W) only seem to have four of these. I've done the power calculations, and I won't need much more than 750W, so buying something much bigger seems unwise. How is that power setup supposed to work then, am I missing something?
Don't mix up +12V EPS connectors (to power the CPU) and +12V PCI-E connectors (to power the GPU). They are different connectors and listed on different sections within PSU specs page.

For example: Seasonic PRIME TX series,
link: https://seasonic.com/prime-tx#cables

You can select from the top-right yellow box to TX-750, to see the cables it comes with.
TX-750 comes with 2 CPU (EPS) cables and 4 PCI-E (GPU) cables.

Btw, 2 PCs out of 3 i have, are also using Seasonic PRIME TX-650 PSUs. Full specs with pics in my sig.

Jul 1, 2023
Don't mix up +12V EPS connectors (to power the CPU) and +12V PCI-E connectors (to power the GPU). They are different connectors and listed on different sections within PSU specs page.

For example: Seasonic PRIME TX series,
link: https://seasonic.com/prime-tx#cables