I Can't See Artifacts

Aeradom

Distinguished
Jul 31, 2011
To start, I'm new to overclocking GPU. And as such, I'm not entirely sure what I'm susppose to be looking for. Following the TomsHardware guide on the subject, I'm using Unigen Valley and using the program to gradually increase the memory, pausing to look around for specks, stars, or spots of solid color. But I couldn't find any. I knew something wasn't right when I pushed it to +900 and still wasn't seeing anything. It probably was a dumb idea I know that. The only reason I know for sure that it was too high was because my driver crashed.

I guess I'm asking is there another benchmarking software, or some sort other way to tell when I hit that threshold and need to pull back? Also, why is it important to raise the voltage because everywhere else says not to do that.

Solution
Artifacts are one possible clue that your card is being pushed harder than it can handle. They happen when tiny compute errors in the card occur because some component of the GPU isn't return the correct values - usually because the frequency is too much for the card to handle.

Another very common clue that an OC is too much is a driver crash. So whether you "crash" or see artifacts is kind of irrelevant. In both cases, it's a clear sign that you either need more voltage or less frequency for stability.
You're meant to leave the voltage at base, and gradually increase both the memory frequency AND the core clock. Keep doing this until you encounter what are called artifacts (looks like static fuzz) while benchmarking, increase the voltage and try again.
Rinse and repeat this process until you hit a point where no matter how much you increase the voltage, you can't get it to stabilize. Revert to the last stable clock and move your speeds back a bit and you have your final speed.