[SOLVED] I want to build a PC for my dad

Rappa_

Reputable
Nov 28, 2015
My dad will turn 50 soon and I would like to build him something for his birthday or get the parts and assemble it together. His current PC was my 1st ever using an awful CPU. It doesn't have to be overkill or with the newest parts. In fact, I could pick up one of our now-replaced PCs from work which is a HP Elite 7500. It has an i5 3470, 8GB of Kingston DDR3 and a DVD Drive which I wanted to use. I'm a student so I don't have much money, things I have lying around are a KFA2 750TI,a decent PSU with 400W and an SSD and one HDD.

So, what I'd need would be a mainboard (I don't think the stock HP one would be useful), a Case and a cpu fan, no?

Before you ask, my dad plays World of Tanks and AoE, Borderlands and Skyrim.

I'd be really happy if someone could help me with this one :D

Solution
That HP motherboard looks like a standard Micro ATX board, which is nice since you can get any micro ATX case and stick that in it, that is really all you will need, along with your 750Ti and SSD it will be a nice setup for not demanding games. I was looking at smaller cases recently, I like the design of this white one https://www.newegg.com/white-darkflash-dlm-21-micro-atx/p/2AM-008X-00007 It would depend on what colors your dad likes. You can even get some nice sleeved cable extensions and combs and make the thing look pretty custom even with the HP motherboard, especially if you find some RAM sets with colored heatspreaders or just buy some for what you have. Same thing for a heatsink and fan for the CPU, spending $20-30...
Look thru systems first, many have asked this question.
Then you need to decide on a budget, Processor and motherboard for needed tasks. When I made my build I opted for the most sata connections for storage which limited choices.