I went from EE to SE and now i fear for my job

connorman01

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2016
I went from EE to SE and now I fear for my job

Hi Everyone,

skip to 5th paragraph for the crux of the post.

I graduated as an Electrical Engineer in 2021. In the early years of my education, I was in a transfer program at a community college. The program was called Computer/Electrical Engineering transfer option. The idea was to take some computer and software classes as well as electrical classes for 2 years and then transfer to a university to finish off the last 2 years. When transferring, you had to choose either computer or electrical engineering to get your BS in.

I really enjoyed both the electrical classes and programming classes. I was torn on which to choose, but I ended up going with EE. I started working for my current employer as a Jr. EE on an RnD team. But I soon realized I did not like being an EE in practice. It is 95% testing other people's designs and 5% actual design. But I have been learning python on the side for a few months and I really enjoy it. So after about 1.5 years, I asked my head of the RnD team if I could switch to the SW team since I did take 1 C++ class, 2 Java classes, and have been learning python on my own for a few months. Keep in mind I am still very beginner level at all of this, which I thought they were aware of but apparently not? Anyway, they said yes and took me on to the SW team.